America: Here Are Some States Where You Really Don't Want A DWI
By Features Desk
Monday, August 1, 2016.
America is the land of the free. Except, of course, when you find yourself on the wrong side of the law.
But the law changes depending on where you are, especially when it comes to DWI offences. Caught under the influence in South Dakota? No problem. You’ll probably be let off with a caution, provided you’re a first-time offender. Caught under the influence in Arizona? Oh boy, you’re in deep. Here we’re going to have a look at some of the states with the harshest DWI laws. Let’s take a look.
According to WalletHub, Arizona is the strictest of the strict when it comes to driving while impaired. In fact, the state just introduced a new law that exemplifies its tough stance. Drivers who have been convicted of drink driving have to install a breathalyzer into their car ignition. Unless they pass the breathalyzer test, the car won’t even start. Each and every time you start the car, you have to provide a sample. If you don’t the car will start logging everything you do and sounding an alarm. How annoying is that?
Texas is famously strict when it comes to driving under the influence. The state has a zero tolerance policy for alcohol in the system of anybody under the age of 21. Getting caught, according to Scheiner Law, can leave a nasty blot on your record. But here’s the thing about getting caught in Texas. Even though the legal limit for alcohol is 0.08mg/L, you can still get into trouble. In Texas, it all comes down to the opinion of the cop, whether you’re charged. If the cop believes you’re driving while impaired, you can still find yourself with a DWI. That means that, in reality, these is no safe limit in Texas. And everybody needs to stay drug and alcohol-free while driving if they’re going to stay safe.
What about California? How does it shape up when it comes to DWIs? In California, DWI drivers can find themselves under attack from two separate cases. First, they wind up in court, fighting the California criminal judicial system. And second, they have to fight a different case against the Department of Motor Vehicles. What’s more, cases have to be filed quickly. In California, you only get ten days between your arrest and the hearing at the DMV. And, if you don’t turn up, your license is automatically suspended.
Suspensions for a first offence usually last for around four months. But if you are caught a second time, this goes up to a year. Third time around, you can expect to lose your license for a whopping two years.
Florida takes drink driving very seriously. If you damage property as a result of drink driving, it’s a first-degree misdemeanour. If you injure somebody while under the influence, it’s a third-degree felony. However, if you kill someone, that’s a first or second-degree felony - bad news.
Fines for getting caught range from $250 to $1000 depending on the circumstances. And drivers must attend a DUI school if they want to get back in front of the wheel.